Hard Money Lenders by State

Home / Hard money loan rates

Hard Money Loan Rates

Advertised hard money starting rates from the 13 national lenders we compared run from 7.75% (Lima One Capital) to 10% to 12% (Express Capital Financing), as of October 22, 2026. Local lenders that publish hard money pricing quote from 7.9% to 16%, often with 1 to 6 points. These are each lender's own starting figures, not a market average; your rate depends on experience, credit, leverage and the property.

Last checked October 22, 2026. Every price and term comes from the company's own website. How we verify

Advertised rates

  1. Lima One Capital7.75%
  2. Kiavi8.25%
  3. Easy Street Capital8.9%
  4. Groundfloor9%
  5. Local lenders7.9% to 16%
Total cost examples
On this page
  1. National lender rates, lowest first
  2. Local and regional lender rates
  3. What moves your rate
  4. Points and fees explained
  5. Rate vs APR
  6. Total cost on a $250,000 loan
  7. Prepayment penalties
  8. Related guides
  9. Frequently asked questions

Researched by the Hard Money Lenders by State team. Updated October 22, 2026. Based on each lender's published information; we did not apply for loans.

National lender rates, lowest first

Advertised starting rates for fix-and-flip loans, read from each lender's website on October 22, 2026. Where a lender gives a range, the bar shows the low end. Lenders that publish no rate are in the table below.

LenderAdvertised ratePoints and fees
Lima One CapitalAs low as 7.75%Origination can be deferred to when you exit (amount not stated)
KiaviAs low as 8.25%Not stated (no application fee)
Easy Street CapitalStarting at 8.90%0 to 2 points plus a $1,995 document fee
GroundfloorStarting at 9%Points and fees can be financed into the loan (amounts not stated)
New Silver9% to 11%1% to 1.75% origination
RCN CapitalAs low as 9.49% (its tier table starts at 9.24% for experienced borrowers with 720+ FICO)Not stated
Sherman BridgeAs low as 9.99%Not stated
Express Capital Financing10% to 12%Not stated
LendingOneNot published1 point or $2,000 (whichever is greater) plus $1,395 processing and legal
CoreVestNot publishedNot stated
UprightNot publishedNot stated
TernusNot published (priced by experience, credit and leverage)Not stated
Griffin FundingNot publishedNot stated

Local and regional lender rates

Smaller lenders often publish a range or a flat price. These are the ones on our state pages that publish pricing:

LenderBased inPublished rates and points
Ridge Street CapitalFloridaFix and flip 10.5% to 11.75%; DSCR 6.0% to 7.99%; construction 10.99% to 12.25%; origination from 1.5%
Capital Funding FinancialFlorida9.00% to 11.99% (fix and flip)
Source Capital Funding (Hard Money First)California1st position 8.99% to 11.99%; 2nd position 11.99% to 13.99%
North Coast FinancialCaliforniaFixed rates from 9.95%; points from 1.5
The Norris GroupCaliforniaFrom 9.9% in California (its homepage also says from 7.9% for qualified borrowers)
California Hard Money DirectCaliforniaSFR as low as 8.99% (9.50% APR)
Corridor FundingTexas30-year fixed rental from 6.5% with 0% origination; no fix-and-flip rate published
Georgia Private LoansGeorgia16% a year, interest only
Capella MortgageNevada9% to 14%, most loans priced 12% to 14%; typically 3 to 4 points
Northwest Private LendingOregon1% per month; 3 points / $2,500 minimum origination
Hard Money PartnerOklahoma11.99% - 14.99%; 2-6 points
CashabilityMinnesotaFix and flip 10% APR (6-month term) or 12% APR (9-month term) with 2.5-4 points at closing; bridge 12% APR, 3 points; commercial fix and flip 12% APR, 4 points
Private Money HawaiiHawaiiRates typically start around 9% (as of 2025); 1-3 points
KECO CapitalHawaiiRates starting at 7.99%
The Hard Money Co.Wisconsin15% annually, interest-only (points not stated)
REIA Hard MoneyWisconsinAs low as 12% and 3 points

What moves your rate

Experience and credit

RCN Capital starts new investors at 10.74%, intermediate investors at 10.24% and experienced investors (10+ flips, 720+ credit) at 9.24%. Ternus prices by experience, credit and leverage, and Upright by experience, credit, property and market.

Lien position and term

Source Capital Funding quotes 8.99% to 11.99% on first-position loans and 11.99% to 13.99% on second position. Cashability in Minnesota quotes 10% APR for a 6-month fix-and-flip term and 12% APR for 9 months.

Points and fees explained

A point is 1% of the loan amount. On a $250,000 loan, 2 points is $5,000. Published structures range from no points (Easy Street's low end) to 6 points (Hard Money Partner's high end), and some lenders add flat fees: Easy Street's $1,995 document fee, LendingOne's $1,395 for processing and legal. Some let you defer or finance the fee: Lima One defers origination to exit, and Groundfloor finances points and fees into the loan.

Rate vs APR

The note rate is what interest is charged at; the APR also folds in certain fees, so it is higher. California Hard Money Direct, for example, advertises single-family loans as low as 8.99% with a 9.50% APR. When one lender quotes a rate and another an APR, compare like with like.

Total cost on a $250,000 loan

Six months of interest plus published points and fees, using each lender's own figures:

LenderPublished pricing6 months of interestPoints and feesTotal
Easy Street Capital8.90%, 0 to 2 points + $1,995$11,125$1,995 to $6,995$13,120 to $18,120
New Silver9% to 11%, 1% to 1.75% origination$11,250 to $13,750$2,500 to $4,375$13,750 to $18,125
Northwest Private Lending (OR)1% per month, 3 points$15,000$7,500$22,500
Hard Money Partner (OK)11.99% to 14.99%, 2 to 6 points$14,988 to $18,738$5,000 to $15,000$19,988 to $33,738

The cheapest rate is not always the cheapest loan: on a short hold, points weigh heavily. Run your own timeline, because each extra month adds a full month of interest.

Prepayment penalties

Most fix-and-flip lenders that address it say there is none: Groundfloor, RCN Capital, Express Capital Financing, LendingOne and Ternus on fix and flip, and Upright and Lima One Bridge Plus on bridge loans. Rental (DSCR) loans are different; many carry step-down penalties such as 5-4-3-2-1. See DSCR loans.

Not financial advice. Every rate and term here is the lender's own published figure on October 22, 2026; confirm current terms with the lender before you apply.

Frequently asked questions

What is the interest rate on a hard money loan?

We can only report each lender's own advertised figures, as of October 22, 2026. National lenders we compared advertise starting rates from 7.75% (Lima One Capital) and 8.25% (Kiavi) to 10% to 12% (Express Capital Financing). Local lenders that publish hard money pricing quote from 7.9% (a figure on The Norris Group's homepage; its California rate is from 9.9%) and 7.99% (KECO Capital, Hawaii) to 16% (Georgia Private Loans).

How many points do hard money lenders charge?

Published examples: 0 to 2 points at Easy Street Capital, 1% to 1.75% at New Silver, 1 point or $2,000 at LendingOne, 3 points at Northwest Private Lending and REIA Hard Money, 3 to 4 at Capella Mortgage, and 2 to 6 at Hard Money Partner.

Why are hard money rates higher than mortgage rates?

The loans are short, close fast, are sized on the property rather than your income, and fund renovations on properties that often would not qualify for a conventional mortgage. Lenders price in that speed and risk.

Are hard money rates fixed?

Most short-term hard money loans are interest only at a set rate for the term; North Coast Financial, for example, advertises fixed rates from 9.95%. Ask whether extension periods carry a higher rate or fee.

Do hard money loans have prepayment penalties?

Many do not. Groundfloor, RCN Capital, Express Capital Financing, LendingOne and Ternus say their fix-and-flip loans have none.