Home / DSCR loans
DSCR Loans: Rates and Requirements Compared
A DSCR loan qualifies you on the rental property's income instead of your own: the ratio is gross monthly rent divided by the monthly payment including principal, interest, taxes, insurance and HOA dues. Advertised starting rates from the 13 lenders we checked run from 5.75% (Easy Street Capital, dated September 2025) and 5.99% (Upright; Griffin Funding's 1-year ARM) to 6.5% (Lima One). Most cap purchase loans at 80% of value, and published credit minimums run from 620 to 680.
How the DSCR is calculated
DSCR = gross monthly rent / monthly PITIA (principal, interest, taxes, insurance and HOA dues). For example, a rental that brings in $2,000 a month against a $1,800 payment has a DSCR of 1.11. If rent were $1,600, the DSCR would be 0.89, which only some lenders accept.
DSCR lenders compared
| Lender | Starting rate | Min DSCR | Max loan-to-value | Min credit score | Loan size | Prepayment penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Easy Street Capital | From 5.75% (its FAQ dates this to September 2025) | No minimum | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | 640 | $100K to $3.5M | Typically 5/4/3/2/1; shorter or none available |
| Griffin Funding | From 5.99% (1-year ARM); 30-year fixed from 7.125% (October 2026) | No minimum; no-ratio program | Down payment as low as 15% at 740+ credit; 80% cash-out | 620 | $100K to $4.5M | Most loans 1 to 5 years; no-penalty options |
| Upright | From 5.99% (as of August 2026) | 0.90x (1.15x for short-term rentals) | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | 660 | $100K to $3M per property | Your choice of 0 to 5 years |
| RCN Capital | From 6.00% | 1.00 | 80% purchase (lower below 700 credit); 75% cash-out | 660 | $70K to $1.5M | Not stated |
| New Silver | From 6% | 0.75 | 80% of purchase price | 660 | $150K to $3M | Typically 5-4-3-2-1; can be cut for a higher rate |
| Kiavi (loans made by Figure Lending) | As low as 6.25% | 0.8x | Up to 80% | Not stated | Not stated | None after year 3 |
| Express Capital Financing | From 6.25% | 1.0x (also lists a no-DSCR option) | 85% purchase; 75% cash-out | 650 | $50K to $3M | None up to 5-4-3-2-1; no-penalty option at a higher rate |
| Lima One Capital | As low as 6.5% | 1.0 | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | 660 | $85K or $100K (its pages differ) to $2.5M | Low or none available for a higher fee or rate |
| LendingOne | Not published | As low as 0.75 | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | Not stated | $85K to $2M | 0 to 5 years |
| CoreVest | Not published | 0.80x | Up to 80% of value | Not stated | $75K to $3M+ | Not stated |
| Ternus | Not published | 1.00x at 680+ credit; 1.15x at 660 to 679 | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | 660 | $70K to $3M | Its page says both "no prepayment penalty" and "contact for current prepay structure" |
| Groundfloor | Not published | 1.1 | Up to 80% | 660 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Visio Lending | Not published | Not stated | 15% minimum down (its rental guide says 20% to 30%) | 680 | From $75K | None required in MD, NM, OH, PA and RI; otherwise not stated |
Rates are advertised starting rates and change often; the dates shown are the lender's own. "Not stated" means the lender's DSCR page does not say. Cash-out limits are listed where the lender gives them separately.
Where lenders' own pages disagree
- Lima One: its rental pages give different minimum loans ($85K vs $100K), unit limits (1 to 9 units vs 1 to 4) and short-term rental credit minimums (660 vs 700).
- Ternus: says "no prepayment penalty" at the top of the page and "contact for current prepay structure" in its terms table.
- Griffin Funding: says it originates DSCR loans in all 50 states and DC, and also that it is licensed in 47 states plus DC.
- Visio Lending: its DSCR page says 15% minimum down; its long-term rental guide says to expect 20% to 30%.
- Easy Street Capital: its 5.75% starting rate is dated September 2025 in its FAQ.
States
Easy Street Capital and Express Capital Financing lend DSCR loans everywhere except North Dakota and South Dakota. LendingOne excludes Alaska, Nevada, North Dakota and South Dakota, and Lima One excludes Alaska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Vermont. Ternus says 39 states without naming them. For fix-and-flip and bridge lenders by state, see hard money lenders by state.
Frequently asked questions
What is a DSCR loan?
A mortgage on a rental property that qualifies you on the property's rental income instead of your personal income. The ratio is gross monthly rent divided by the monthly payment including principal, interest, taxes, insurance and HOA dues (PITIA). A ratio of 1.0 means the rent covers the full payment.
What DSCR do I need?
It depends on the lender. Easy Street Capital and Griffin Funding publish no minimum, New Silver and LendingOne go as low as 0.75, Kiavi and CoreVest 0.8, Upright 0.90, RCN Capital, Lima One and Express Capital Financing 1.0, and Groundfloor 1.1. Ternus asks for 1.00 with 680+ credit or 1.15 with 660 to 679.
What credit score do I need for a DSCR loan?
Published minimums run from 620 (Griffin Funding) and 640 (Easy Street Capital) to 680 (Visio Lending). Most of the lenders we checked list 660.
How much down payment does a DSCR loan need?
Most lenders we checked cap purchase loans at 80% of value, which means 20% down. Express Capital Financing lists up to 85% on purchases, and Griffin Funding says as little as 15% down with 740+ credit.
Can I get a DSCR loan for an Airbnb or short-term rental?
Several lenders say yes: Easy Street Capital (no short-term rental history required), Griffin Funding, New Silver and Ternus. Lima One has a separate short-term rental loan at up to 75% of value. Upright only refinances short-term rentals, at a 1.15 minimum DSCR. Visio Lending has a separate short-term rental program.
Do I need an LLC for a DSCR loan?
Lima One requires an LLC or similar entity, LendingOne closes its loans under an LLC, and Visio Lending requires an entity in GA, HI, IL, MA, NJ, NY, PA and VA. Easy Street Capital recommends an LLC but lends to individuals in most states. Griffin Funding lends to individuals or a U.S. LLC with a personal guarantee.