On this page
- Griffin Funding DSCR loan requirements
- Griffin Funding DSCR loan rates
- Down payment: 20% or 15%
- Cash-out refinance with Griffin
- DSCR HELOAN and HELOC
- Private money loans for low credit or no cash flow
- Monthly payments at Griffin's fixed rate
- Short-term rentals and bridge loans
- Griffin Funding vs Kiavi
- Griffin Funding vs other DSCR lenders
- What borrowers use it for
- LLC or personal name
- Pros and cons
- Where Griffin's pages disagree
- How to qualify, step by step
- Questions to ask Griffin before you lock
- When to look elsewhere
- Verdict
- Related guides
- Frequently asked questions
Based on each lender's published information; we did not apply for loans.
Griffin Funding is a licensed mortgage lender. Its DSCR page says it is licensed in 47 states plus D.C., regulated by the CFPB, and approved by HUD. Its DSCR loan is the product most investors search for, and it sits next to two second-lien options and short-term private money loans. It says it has funded more than 2,300 DSCR loans for over $708 million. Everything below comes from Griffin's own pages.
Griffin Funding DSCR loan requirements
| Requirement | Griffin Funding | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum credit score | 620 (borrowers averaging 732 in 2026) | source |
| Down payment | 20% standard; 15% with 740+ credit on loans up to $1,000,000 | source |
| Loan amount | $100,000 to $4,500,000, based on value and cash flow | source |
| Minimum DSCR | No minimum; the no-ratio program goes up to 75% LTV with 700+ credit on loans to $1,500,000 | source |
| Appraisal | Required, for value and rental income | source |
| Who can borrow | An individual or a U.S. LLC with a personal guarantee; partnership, corporation, S corp or revocable trust by program | source |
| Property types | Rentals only: 1-4 units, condos and short-term rentals | source |
| Lender fee | Flat $1,990 | source |
| Fastest closing | As few as 6 days | source |
From each company's own website, read October 29, 2026. "Not stated" means the company does not publish it on the pages linked. Terms change; confirm with the lender. Not financial advice.
A DSCR loan qualifies you on the property's rent instead of tax returns or pay stubs: the lender divides monthly rent by the monthly payment including taxes, insurance and HOA. If you are new to the ratio, start with the DSCR ratio guide or the DSCR calculator.
Griffin Funding DSCR loan rates
Griffin dates its DSCR rates: in October 2026 they start at 5.99% for 1-year ARMs, with 30-year fixed, 40-year fixed and 5-year ARM options from 7.125%. Your rate depends on credit score, DSCR, down payment, points, and prepayment penalty term.
On a $300,000 loan, 7.125% fixed for 30 years is $2,021.16 a month in principal and interest; the 1-year ARM's starting rate of 5.99% gives $1,796.72, but an ARM's rate can change after the first year. Compare starting rates from other lenders on DSCR loan rates.
Down payment: 20% or 15%
On a $400,000 rental, the standard 20% down means a $320,000 loan; 15% down (740+ credit, loans up to $1,000,000) means $340,000. With the flat $1,990 lender fee, that is $81,990 or $61,990 before third-party closing costs and reserves.
| Scenario | Down payment | Loan | Principal and interest at 7.125%, 30 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20% down (standard) | $80,000 | $320,000 | $2,155.90 |
| 15% down (740+ credit) | $60,000 | $340,000 | $2,290.64 |
To qualify at a 1.0 DSCR, the rent has to cover the full monthly payment. With illustrative taxes of $350 and insurance of $125 a month, the 20% down loan's payment is $2,630.90, so rent of at least $2,630.90 gives a 1.0 ratio. Griffin has no minimum, so a lower ratio can still qualify, but its cash-out loans need 1.0 to reach 80% LTV. For ways to put less down, see DSCR loans with no down payment.
Cash-out refinance with Griffin
A Griffin DSCR cash-out refinance goes up to 80% LTV (80% requires a DSCR of 1.0 or higher) with no seasoning required, and you keep at least 20% of the equity. On a $500,000 rental with $200,000 owed, 80% is a $400,000 loan and $200,000 before costs, but only if the rent covers the payment at a 1.0 ratio. Other lenders' rules are on DSCR cash-out refinance.
DSCR HELOAN and HELOC
Both are second mortgages, so the first mortgage and its rate stay in place. Properties titled in an LLC or corporation qualify. Griffin's own analysis of HMDA data puts the 2025 average HELOC on an investment property at $384,000.
| DSCR HELOAN | DSCR HELOC | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Fixed-rate lump sum (closed-end second mortgage) | Revolving line you draw, repay and draw again |
| Amount | $100,000 to $500,000 | $100,000 to $500,000 |
| Minimum credit | 680 | 720 |
| Maximum CLTV | 80%, depending on credit score | 70% |
| Minimum DSCR | 1.0 | 1.1 |
| Term | 15, 20, 25 or 30 years, fixed | Draw period; interest only on what you borrow |
| Prepayment penalty | Options from 5 years down to none | Not stated for the line |
| Reserves | None required | None required |
| Property | Investment single-family, PUD, townhome or 2-4 units | Investment single-family, PUD, townhome or 2-4 units |
On a $500,000 rental with a $200,000 mortgage, an 80% cash-out refinance and the 80% CLTV HELOAN both reach $200,000; the refinance replaces your first mortgage, the HELOAN does not. The 70% CLTV HELOC tops out at $150,000. Published DSCR HELOC programs are compared side by side on DSCR HELOC.
Private money loans for low credit or no cash flow
For borrowers who cannot use a DSCR loan, Griffin lists private money programs: a no-FICO investor loan where no minimum credit score is required, up to 50% LTV and loan amounts as high as $5 million, and a program where no cash flow or minimum rental income is required, up to 75% LTV and $5 million. Business owners with non-traditional income are among those it names. These are hard money style loans; see business hard money loans.
Monthly payments at Griffin's fixed rate
Principal and interest on a 30-year fixed loan at Griffin's October 2026 starting rate of 7.125%, across its loan range. Taxes, insurance and HOA dues come on top, and your rate may be higher.
| Loan | Monthly principal and interest | Total of 360 payments |
|---|---|---|
| $100,000 | $673.72 | $242,538.67 |
| $250,000 | $1,684.30 | $606,346.67 |
| $500,000 | $3,368.59 | $1,212,693.34 |
| $1,000,000 | $6,737.19 | $2,425,386.68 |
| $4,500,000 | $30,317.33 | $10,914,240.08 |
Short-term rentals and bridge loans
Griffin says it qualifies short-term rentals using market rent from the appraisal, documented rental history, or AirDNA-style market data, depending on the program, and that short-term rental files carry their own coverage minimums and LTV limits. It does not publish those limits, so ask for them up front; other lenders' STR rules are on DSCR loans for short-term rentals.
For a property that is not ready to rent, Griffin also offers short-term RTL bridge loans: interest-only payments, a minimum loan of $100,000, and closings that can typically happen within 7-10 days; its page says bridge loans in general typically run 12 to 24 months. Many investors pair a bridge loan with a later DSCR refinance; see bridge loans.
Griffin Funding vs Kiavi
Both lend nationally on rentals; the differences are in who can borrow and what is published.
| Griffin Funding | Kiavi | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting rate | From 5.99% (1-year ARM); 30-year fixed from 7.125% (October 2026) | As low as 6.375% |
| Minimum DSCR | No minimum; no-ratio program | 0.8x |
| Maximum leverage | Down payment as low as 15% at 740+ credit; 80% cash-out | Up to 80% |
| Minimum credit | 620 | Not stated |
| Loan size | $100K to $4.5M | Not stated |
| Prepayment penalty | Term you choose affects the rate; no-penalty options (schedule not published) | None after year 3 |
| Lender fee | Flat $1,990 | Not published |
| Who can borrow | Individual or U.S. LLC | Business entities only |
| Who makes the loan | Griffin Funding | Figure Lending (since 9/1/2026) |
Rates, ratios and leverage from each lender's DSCR page as listed on our DSCR loans page. Full Kiavi details are in our Kiavi review.
Griffin Funding vs other DSCR lenders
Published terms from each lender's own DSCR page, from our DSCR loans comparison.
| Lender | Minimum DSCR | Maximum leverage | Minimum credit | Loan size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Griffin Funding | No minimum; no-ratio program | Down payment as low as 15% at 740+ credit; 80% cash-out | 620 | $100K to $4.5M |
| Kiavi (loans made by Figure Lending) | 0.8x | Up to 80% | Not stated | Not stated |
| Lima One Capital | 1.0 | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | 660 | $85K or $100K (its pages differ) to $2.5M |
| LendingOne | As low as 0.75 | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | Not stated | $85K to $2M |
| Easy Street Capital | No minimum | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | 640 | $100K to $3.5M |
| Upright | 0.90x (1.15x for short-term rentals; 1.25x for 5 to 10 units) | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out (cash-out capped at $1M) | 660 | $100K to $3M per property |
| RCN Capital | 1.00 | 80% purchase (lower below 700 credit); 75% cash-out | 660 | $70K to $1.5M |
| Visio Lending | Not stated | 15% minimum down (its rental guide says 20% to 30%) | 680 | From $75K |
Griffin's $4.5 million maximum is the largest in this table. Griffin and Easy Street publish no minimum DSCR, Griffin and Visio allow 15% down, and Lima One, Easy Street and LendingOne cap purchases at 80%.
What borrowers use it for
In September 2026 Griffin says it funded 85 DSCR loans for $29.7 million, averaging $349,562 with a high of $2,000,000: 64% cash-out refinances, 29% purchases and 7% rate-and-term refinances.
LLC or personal name
Griffin says you usually do not need an LLC to get a DSCR loan: loans can close in your name or a U.S. LLC, though some states, programs or structures require entity vesting. An LLC can own the property and borrow, but an owner generally still provides a personal guarantee. A new LLC may qualify without business credit history; form it, get an EIN and have it in good standing before closing. It also warns to review any due-on-sale risk before moving a mortgaged property into an LLC. More on DSCR loans for an LLC.
Pros and cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| No minimum DSCR, plus a no-ratio program that ignores cash flow | Appraisal required on every DSCR loan |
| 15% down at 740+ credit on loans up to $1,000,000; most DSCR lenders stop at 80% LTV | Its pages give two different state counts (47 plus D.C. licensed; all 50 plus D.C. for investment loans) |
| Flat $1,990 lender fee, published | Rates depend on the prepayment penalty you choose; the full schedule is not published |
| Loans up to $4,500,000, the largest DSCR maximum in the comparison table | The HELOC needs 720+ credit and a 1.1 DSCR, stricter than the first-lien loan |
| Second-lien options (HELOAN and HELOC) that keep a low-rate first mortgage | Minimum loan $100,000 on DSCR loans and on both second liens |
| Closings in as few as 6 days |
Where Griffin's pages disagree
The DSCR page says Griffin is licensed in 47 states plus D.C.; the HELOAN and HELOC page says it lends on investment properties in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Confirm your state before you apply.
How to qualify, step by step
- Check the rent. Divide expected monthly rent by the full payment. Griffin has no minimum, but a ratio of 1.0 or more widens your options, including 80% cash-out.
- Know your credit tier. 620 is the floor; 740 unlocks 15% down on loans up to $1,000,000.
- Size the down payment. 20% standard, plus the $1,990 lender fee and third-party costs.
- Pick how you will hold title. Your own name or a U.S. LLC with a personal guarantee; trusts and other entities by program.
- Order the appraisal. Required for value and rental income on every DSCR loan.
Questions to ask Griffin before you lock
- What prepayment penalty term is built into my quoted rate, and what would the rate be with none?
- Does my file qualify for the 15% down program, and which "program conditions" apply?
- If my DSCR is below 1.0, how many months of reserves will you require?
- For a short-term rental, what coverage minimum and LTV limit apply?
- Is my state served for this product, given the 47-state and 50-state statements on your pages?
When to look elsewhere
- Credit below 620. Griffin's DSCR loan is out; its no-FICO private money loan caps at 50% LTV. Compare bad credit hard money lenders.
- A small loan. Griffin starts at $100,000; RCN Capital lists DSCR loans from $70K and Express Capital Financing from $50K.
- A home you will live in. Griffin's DSCR loans are for rentals only; see owner-occupied hard money loans.
- A renovation first. Rehab and flip financing is covered on fix-and-flip loans.
Verdict
Griffin Funding fits rental investors who want a DSCR loan without a minimum ratio, a 15% down option at 740+ credit, a published lender fee and loans above the $2 to $3 million caps common elsewhere. It also fits owners who want to tap equity without refinancing a low-rate first mortgage. It is a weaker fit for credit under 620 (its private money loans then cap at 50% LTV) and for loans under $100,000. Ask for the prepayment penalty schedule on your rate quote, since Griffin prices by penalty term.
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Is Griffin Funding legit?
Griffin Funding says it is a licensed mortgage lender in 47 states plus D.C., regulated by the CFPB and approved by HUD. Its pages publish its rates, fee and requirements.
What credit score do you need for a Griffin Funding DSCR loan?
620 minimum. Griffin says higher scores unlock better rates and lower down payments, including 15% down at 740 and above on loans up to $1,000,000.
How much down does Griffin require on a DSCR loan?
20% standard, or 15% with a 740+ credit score on loans up to $1,000,000.
Does Griffin Funding have a minimum DSCR?
No. It has no minimum ratio and a no-ratio program that does not use cash flow to qualify, though cash-out loans need a 1.0 DSCR to reach 80% LTV.
How fast can Griffin close a DSCR loan?
Its DSCR page says loans can close in as few as 6 days.
Does Griffin Funding offer a HELOC on investment property?
Yes. Its DSCR HELOC is a revolving second lien from $100,000 to $500,000 at up to 70% CLTV with 720+ credit and a 1.1 DSCR; its DSCR HELOAN is a fixed lump sum at up to 80% CLTV with 680+ credit.