On this page
- DSCR loan credit score requirements
- DSCR loan down payment requirements
- Minimum DSCR requirements
- Cash reserves
- Property type requirements
- Loan size requirements
- Minimum property value and credit history
- Cash-out refinance requirements
- Prepayment terms you will be asked to choose
- Loan products: fixed, ARM and interest-only
- Citizenship and residency
- Who can borrow: individuals, LLCs and partners
- Income and documents
- Short-term rental requirements
- Worked example: one file against every lender
- How interest-only changes the ratio
- Rent needed at three price points
- Which rent counts toward the ratio
- All 13 lenders' requirements at a glance
- What most often disqualifies a DSCR file
- Requirements checklist
- Related guides
- Frequently asked questions
DSCR loan requirements come down to six things: the rent-to-payment ratio, a credit floor, a down payment, cash reserves, the property type and who holds title. What follows is each requirement as lenders publish it on their own pages, not a rule of thumb, so you can see which lenders a file clears before you apply. For rates, start with DSCR loan rates; for the lender list, DSCR lenders.
DSCR loan credit score requirements
Every lender with a published floor is between 620 and 680. Kiavi and LendingOne do not state one on their DSCR pages. A higher score buys a lower rate and, at some lenders, a lower ratio: Ternus asks 1.00x at 680+ credit but 1.15x at 660 to 679.
| Lender | Published minimum credit score |
|---|---|
| Griffin Funding | 620 |
| CoreVest | 640 |
| Easy Street Capital | 640 |
| Express Capital Financing | 650 |
| Groundfloor | 660 |
| Lima One Capital | 660 |
| New Silver | 660 |
| RCN Capital | 660 |
| Ternus | 660 |
| Upright | 660 |
| Visio Lending | 680 |
Express Capital Financing's FAQ also says that, across the market, the minimum is usually between 650 and 700 (Express Capital). A low score is not an automatic no at Easy Street Capital, which says it lends with partners in an LLC and to borrowers with recent mortgage late payments.
DSCR loan down payment requirements
Lenders publish leverage as a maximum loan-to-value, so the down payment is what is left. On a $300,000 purchase:
| Lender | Its published purchase leverage | Largest loan on a $300,000 purchase | Down payment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Express Capital Financing | 85% purchase | $255,000 | $45,000 |
| Visio Lending | 85% purchase | $255,000 | $45,000 |
| Easy Street Capital | 80% purchase | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| Upright | 80% purchase | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| Lima One Capital | 80% purchase | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| LendingOne | 80% purchase | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| Kiavi | Up to 80% | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| New Silver | 80% LTV | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| CoreVest | Up to 80% of value | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| Ternus | Up to 80% | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| Groundfloor | 20% down | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| Griffin Funding | 20% down standard | $240,000 | $60,000 |
| Griffin Funding 740+ credit, loans up to $1M | 15% down | $255,000 | $45,000 |
Most lenders top out at 80%, which means $60,000 down on this example; Express Capital Financing's 85% purchase limit brings it to $45,000, as do Visio Lending's 85% LTV purchase loans and Griffin Funding's 15% option for 740+ credit. Closing costs, points and reserves come on top. Cash-out refinances are capped lower, usually at 75% (Easy Street Capital, Upright, Lima One, LendingOne, Express Capital Financing).
Minimum DSCR requirements
The ratio is gross monthly rent divided by the full monthly payment: principal, interest, taxes, insurance and HOA dues. Published minimums run from none (Easy Street Capital, Griffin Funding) to 1.1 (Groundfloor), with higher floors for riskier files. The chart turns those minimums into the rent you would need on one example payment:
On this $300,000 purchase the payment is $1,866.96 a month, so a lender at 0.75 accepts $1,401 of rent and one at 1.25 wants $2,334. Below 1.00, Upright says it lends at reduced leverage with additional reserves. Lima One's rental page sets a 1.0 minimum, with its lowest rates at 1.2 or more. Check your own numbers with the DSCR calculator, and see what each DSCR ratio means.
Cash reserves
Few lenders publish an exact reserve figure. Upright says it typically wants a few months of PITIA, with more on larger loans, lower-DSCR files and multifamily (Upright). Express Capital Financing's FAQ puts the market range at 3 to 12 months of payments. On the example above, 3 months is $5,600.89 and 12 months is $22,403.56, held in the bank after the down payment.
Property type requirements
DSCR loans are for non-owner-occupied rentals. What counts as eligible varies most at the top end, between 4 and 10 units:
| Lender | Property types on its DSCR page |
|---|---|
| Easy Street Capital | 1 to 10 units, including mixed use and short-term rentals |
| Upright | Single-family, 2 to 4 units, warrantable condos and townhomes, multifamily up to 10 units |
| Lima One Capital | 1 to 9 units |
| Express Capital Financing | Up to 9 units; offices and retail usually do not qualify |
| New Silver | Residential 1 to 8 units |
| RCN Capital | Non-owner-occupied 1 to 4 family, condos, townhomes and PUDs |
| CoreVest | 1 to 4 unit single-family rentals, condos and townhomes |
Five or more units moves some lenders into different terms: Upright asks 1.25x on 5 to 10 units. Offices, retail and larger buildings are covered on commercial DSCR loans.
Loan size requirements
A minimum loan size rules out cheap houses faster than any ratio. Published ranges, smallest minimum first:
| Lender | Loan size on its DSCR page |
|---|---|
| Express Capital Financing | $50,000 to $3,000,000 |
| RCN Capital | $70k to $1.5M |
| Ternus | $70,000 (single-family) or $150,000 (multifamily) to $3,000,000 |
| CoreVest | $75K to $3M+ |
| Lima One Capital | $85k to $2.5M |
| Easy Street Capital | $100K to $3.5M+ |
| Griffin Funding | $100,000 to $4,500,000 |
| Upright | $100,000 to $3,000,000 per property |
| New Silver | $150,000 to $3,000,000 |
Ternus also needs a $115,000 minimum property value, and RCN Capital an as-is value of $115k or more, so a lender's loan minimum is not the only floor.
Minimum property value and credit history
Lenders also screen the house and your history, separately from the score:
- Easy Street Capital: a third-party appraised value of at least $100,000 ($75,000 per property on portfolio loans), and a limit of one bankruptcy, foreclosure or short sale in the past seven years (its FAQ).
- Ternus: a $115,000 minimum property value.
- RCN Capital: an as-is appraised value of $115k or greater.
Cash-out refinance requirements
Leverage drops when you take cash out. Easy Street Capital, Upright, Lima One, LendingOne and Express Capital Financing all cap cash-out refinances at 75% of value, against 80% (85% at Express Capital) on a purchase. On a rental appraised at $300,000, that is a $225,000 maximum loan before paying off the existing mortgage. The full comparison is on DSCR cash-out refinance.
Prepayment terms you will be asked to choose
Most DSCR loans charge a fee if you pay them off early, and the choice is usually yours at application: a longer penalty buys a lower rate. What each lender publishes:
| Lender | Prepayment terms on its DSCR page |
|---|---|
| Kiavi | None after year 3 |
| Upright | Your choice, from none up to 5 years |
| LendingOne | 5 years down to no prepay |
| Express Capital Financing | None, 1.0.0, 3.0.0, 3.2.1 or 5.4.3.2.1 |
| Easy Street Capital | Typically 5/4/3/2/1: 5% of the remaining balance if prepaid in year one, stepping down |
| Ternus | Says both "no prepayment penalty" and "contact for current prepay structure" |
| Visio Lending | Zero prepayment penalty required in MD, NM, OH, PA and RI |
Ask the lender to write out what each year of a step-down schedule such as 5.4.3.2.1 would cost on your balance. If you may sell or refinance within three years, price the loan with a short or no-penalty option as well.
Loan products: fixed, ARM and interest-only
Upright offers a 30-year fixed, a 30-year fixed with 10 years interest only, and 5/6 and 7/6 ARMs. Easy Street Capital offers a 30-year fixed with a partial interest-only period of 10 years, and LendingOne a 30-year fixed, 5/1 and 10/1 ARMs and interest-only. Interest-only raises your ratio because the payment is lower; some lenders reduce leverage on it, as Upright does.
Citizenship and residency
Express Capital Financing lists US citizens, foreign nationals and permanent resident aliens as eligible on its DSCR loan (its program data). Other lenders set their own rules for non-citizens; ask before you apply.
Who can borrow: individuals, LLCs and partners
- Easy Street Capital: entities (LLCs) and partners welcomed.
- Ternus: LLC, LP or corporation, with an individual guarantor.
- Visio Lending: an entity is required in GA, HI, IL, MA, NJ, NY, PA and VA (its lending map).
- Farm Bureau Bank, one of the banks that publishes a DSCR product, lets title vest in an LLC, S corporation, C corporation or revocable trust, and sets no limit on the number of financed properties you own.
More on titling and guarantees: DSCR loans for an LLC.
Income and documents
No personal income test is the point of the loan. Upright requires no tax returns and no employment verification; Easy Street Capital uses no debt-to-income ratio; Groundfloor asks for property income verification and a clear rental strategy instead. Expect a lease or the appraiser's rent schedule, bank statements for the down payment and reserves, and entity documents if you borrow through a company.
Short-term rental requirements
Rules split sharply. Easy Street Capital says no short-term rental history is required. Upright does not finance short-term rental purchases and refinances them only with documented income at 1.15x. Full detail is on DSCR loans for short-term rentals.
Worked example: one file against every lender
Take a borrower with a 660 credit score buying the $300,000 rental above with 20% down. The lease is $2,000 a month and the payment is $1,866.96, so the ratio is 1.07. Here is how that file reads against each lender's published floors:
| Lender | Credit floor | Minimum ratio for this file | A 660 score, $2,000 rent, 20% down |
|---|---|---|---|
| Easy Street Capital | 640 | None | Clears the published floors |
| Griffin Funding | 620 | None | Clears the published floors |
| Upright | 660 | 0.90 | Clears the published floors |
| RCN Capital | 660 | 1.00 | Clears the published floors |
| Express Capital Financing | 650 | 1.00 | Clears the published floors |
| Kiavi | Not stated | 0.80 | Clears the published floors (credit floor not stated) |
| Lima One Capital | 660 | 1.00 | Clears the published floors |
| New Silver | 660 | 0.75 | Clears the published floors |
| LendingOne | Not stated | 0.75 | Clears the published floors (credit floor not stated) |
| CoreVest | Typically 640 | 0.80 | Clears the published floors |
| Ternus | 660 | 1.15 | Needs a 1.15 ratio |
| Groundfloor | 660+ | 1.10 | Needs a 1.10 ratio |
| Visio Lending | 680 | Not stated | Needs a 680 score |
10 of the 13 lenders clear on paper. Ternus needs 1.15 at this score, Groundfloor 1.1 and Visio Lending a 680 score. Raising the score to 680 would bring Ternus's minimum down to 1.00 and clear Visio's floor; a rent of $2,148 would clear Ternus at 660. Clearing a floor is not the same as getting the best price: Lima One, for one, keeps its lowest rates for ratios of 1.2 or more.
How interest-only changes the ratio
The same $240,000 loan at 6.5% costs $1,516.96 a month amortizing over 30 years but $1,300.00 interest only. With $350 of taxes and insurance, the full payment falls from $1,866.96 to $1,650.00 and the ratio on a $2,000 rent rises from 1.07 to 1.21. That can move a file past a 1.10 or 1.15 floor. The cost is that you pay down no principal during the interest-only years, and lenders such as Upright reduce leverage on interest-only loans.
Rent needed at three price points
Requirements bite differently as prices rise. The table holds the loan at 80% of price and 6.5% over 30 years, with taxes at 1% of the price a year and $1,200 of insurance; your taxes will differ by county. It shows the rent each price needs at three common minimums:
| Purchase price | 80% loan | Monthly payment | Rent at 0.75 | Rent at 1.00 | Rent at 1.10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $200,000 | $160,000 | $1,277.98 | $959 | $1,278 | $1,406 |
| $300,000 | $240,000 | $1,866.96 | $1,401 | $1,867 | $2,054 |
| $450,000 | $360,000 | $2,750.44 | $2,063 | $2,751 | $3,026 |
On a $450,000 house a 1.00 lender wants $2,751 of rent, more than the median rent in any of the 10 states with a DSCR page here. That is why many expensive markets only work at lenders with a minimum under 1.00 or with more than 20% down.
Which rent counts toward the ratio
The ratio is only as high as the rent the lender accepts, and lenders pick it differently:
- Kiavi uses the lower of 110% of the appraised market rent and your valid lease rent (Kiavi). With a $1,900 appraised market rent, a $2,000 lease counts in full, but a $2,200 lease counts as only $2,090.
- Easy Street Capital finances vacant properties and uses the market rent from the appraisal to project cash flow (Easy Street).
- Upright underwrites on in-place or market rent (Upright).
- Angel Oak Mortgage Solutions, a non-QM lender, offers an automated rental valuation in place of the appraiser's rent schedule on some 1-unit loans and accepts an AirDNA report for short-term rentals (Angel Oak).
If your lease is above market, expect the lender to cap it. If the unit is empty, the appraiser's rent schedule decides the file, so look at local rents for the same bedroom count before you order the appraisal.
All 13 lenders' requirements at a glance
| Lender | Credit floor | Minimum DSCR | Purchase leverage | Loan size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Easy Street Capital | 640 | No minimum | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | $100K to $3.5M+ |
| Griffin Funding | 620 | No minimum | 20% down standard; 15% at 740+ credit up to $1M | $100,000 to $4,500,000 |
| Upright | 660 | 0.90x long-term; 1.15x short-term; 1.25x 5 to 10 units | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | $100,000 to $3,000,000 per property |
| RCN Capital | 660 | 1.00 | Varies by credit tier | $70k to $1.5M |
| Express Capital Financing | 650 | 1.0x (its table also says no-DSCR is available) | 85% purchase; 80% rate-and-term; 75% cash-out | $50,000 to $3,000,000 |
| Kiavi | Not stated | 0.8x | Up to 80% | Not stated |
| Lima One Capital | 660 | 1.0 | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | $85k to $2.5M |
| New Silver | 660 | 0.75 | 80% LTV | $150,000 to $3,000,000 |
| LendingOne | Not stated | 0.75 | 80% purchase; 75% cash-out | Not stated on its DSCR page |
| CoreVest | Typically 640 | 0.80x | Up to 80% of value | $75K to $3M+ |
| Ternus | 660 | 1.00x at 680+ credit; 1.15x at 660 to 679 | Up to 80% | $70,000 (single-family) or $150,000 (multifamily) to $3,000,000 |
| Groundfloor | 660+ | 1.1 | 20% down | Not stated |
| Visio Lending | 680 | Not stated | 85% purchase | Not stated |
Each lender's own DSCR page, read November 2, 2026. "Not stated" means the page does not give one.
What most often disqualifies a DSCR file
- A recent credit event. Easy Street Capital allows at most one bankruptcy, foreclosure or short sale in the past seven years.
- A cheap property. Ternus needs a $115,000 value and RCN Capital an as-is value of $115k or more; New Silver's loans start at $150,000.
- Owner occupancy. These loans are for rentals you do not live in. A home you plan to live in needs an owner-occupied loan instead.
- A short-term rental purchase at Upright, which does not finance them.
- Too many units. Most programs stop at 4, 8, 9 or 10 units; above that is commercial lending.
Requirements checklist
- Rent covers the payment at your lender's minimum (see the chart above).
- Credit at or above its floor, 620 to 680.
- Down payment of 15% to 20% of the price at most lenders here (Express Capital Financing's FAQ says 20% to 30% is typical across the market), plus closing costs.
- Reserves of several months of PITIA.
- Property within its unit count and above its minimum value.
- Borrower structure it accepts in your state.
Read from each lender's own website on November 2, 2026. Requirements change; confirm with the lender before you apply. Not financial advice.
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
What credit score do you need for a DSCR loan?
Published minimums run from 620 (Griffin Funding) to 680 (Visio Lending). Easy Street Capital and CoreVest list 640, Express Capital Financing 650, and Upright, RCN Capital, Lima One, New Silver, Ternus and Groundfloor 660.
How much is the down payment on a DSCR loan?
Usually 20%, because most lenders cap purchases at 80% of value. Express Capital Financing and Visio Lending go to 85% (15% down), and Griffin Funding allows 15% down at 740+ credit on loans up to $1M. On a $300,000 rental that is $60,000 or $45,000.
What DSCR do you need to qualify?
It depends on the lender: no minimum at Easy Street Capital and Griffin Funding, 0.75 at New Silver and LendingOne, 0.8x at Kiavi, 0.90x at Upright, 1.00 at RCN Capital, 1.0 at Lima One and 1.1 at Groundfloor.
Do DSCR loans require reserves?
Usually. Upright typically wants a few months of PITIA, more on larger loans, and Express Capital Financing's FAQ puts the range at 3 to 12 months of payments.
Can an LLC get a DSCR loan?
Yes. Easy Street Capital welcomes LLCs and partners, Ternus lends to LLCs, LPs and corporations with an individual guarantor, and Visio Lending requires an entity in eight states, including Pennsylvania.
Is there a limit on how many DSCR loans you can have?
Not at every lender. Farm Bureau Bank, for one, says there is no limit on the total number of financed properties a borrower can own.