Hard Money Lenders by State

Home / What is a hard money loan?

What is a hard money loan?

A hard money loan is a short-term loan secured by real estate and made by a private lender, approved mainly on the property's value rather than your income. Investors use them to buy and renovate: terms run 6 to 24 months at national lenders, payments are usually interest only, rehab money comes in draws, and you repay by selling or refinancing.

By Anthony Graham. Updated October 29, 2026.

At a glance

  1. Secured byReal estate
  2. Term6 to 24 months
  3. PaymentsUsually interest only
  4. Points0% to 3.0% published
Compare lender terms
On this page
  1. Hard money loan definition
  2. How does a hard money loan work?
  3. Hard money loan terms by lender
  4. Interest only and draws: what you actually pay
  5. Points: the upfront cost
  6. Hard money loan vs bank mortgage
  7. Hard money loan pros and cons
  8. What hard money loans are used for
  9. Federal rules: business loans vs home loans
  10. Related guides
  11. Frequently asked questions

Based on each lender's published information; we did not apply for loans.

Hard money loan definition

A hard money loan is a short-term loan secured by real estate, made by a private lender and approved mainly on the value of the property rather than your income. In Easy Street Capital's words, hard money loans "are short-term and use real property as the backing for the loan," and the lender "rarely uses the credit worthiness of the borrower and simply uses the value of a property as the protection against default by the borrower."

The "hard" refers to the hard asset behind the loan. Fairview Lending says underwriting "decisions are based on the borrower's 'hard assets' (real estate assets)" and that the loan "is secured by a first mortgage." Most hard money loans come from private companies or individuals, and because that lending carries more risk, rates are higher than on ordinary home loans (Easy Street Capital).

How does a hard money loan work?

How a hard money loan works, in four steps1Sized on thepropertyAsset-based: ExpressCapital lends up to 90%of the purchase and 100%of renovation cost.2Close, paypointsFrom 0 (Easy Street'slow end) to 3.0%(Sherman Bridge) of theloan.3Draws, interestonlyLima One offers 24-hourdraws; RCN chargesinterest only on theoutstanding balance.4Sell orrefinanceTerms run 6 to 24 monthsamong the lenders below;then you sell orrefinance.How a hard money loan works, in four steps1Sized on the propertyAsset-based: Express Capital lends up to 90%of the purchase and 100% of renovation cost.2Close, pay pointsFrom 0 (Easy Street's low end) to 3.0%(Sherman Bridge) of the loan.3Draws, interest onlyLima One offers 24-hour draws; RCN chargesinterest only on the outstanding balance.4Sell or refinanceTerms run 6 to 24 months among the lendersbelow; then you sell or refinance.
Hard money loan lifecycle. Figures from Express Capital, Ternus, Sherman Bridge, Lima One, RCN, Easy Street, Kiavi and CoreVest's own pages, read October 29, 2026.

The lender values the property (often its after-repair value on a renovation), lends a share of the purchase and usually the rehab budget, and holds a first lien. You pay points at closing, then interest only each month. Rehab money is not handed over at closing: it is released in draws as the work is done and checked, through photo verification at Ternus or a virtual draw process at LendingOne. At the end of the term you sell the property or refinance into long-term financing and pay off the hard money loan (Easy Street Capital).

Hard money loan terms by lender

How the main pieces (term, payments, draws, points) look at national lenders, from each lender's own pages. Leverage, credit minimums and loan sizes are on the requirements page; starting rates are on the rates page.

LenderTermPaymentsRehab drawsOrigination or points
Kiavi12, 18 or 24 monthsInterest-only options100% of rehab costNot stated
Lima One Capital13, 19 or 24 monthsInterest only, on funds drawn24-hour draws; 100% of rehab budgetNot stated
RCN Capital12 to 18 monthsInterest only, charged on the outstanding balanceUp to 100% of renovation costNot stated
LendingOne12 monthsInterest only; no interest on undrawn rehab fundsVirtual draw process; 100% of rehab costsNot stated
New SilverUp to 18 monthsInterest onlyNot statedOrigination 1 to 1.75%
Easy Street Capital6 to 18 months, extension optionsInterest only48-hour draws0 to 2 points plus a $1,995 document fee
Ternus12 months; 1% extension fee at lender's discretionInterest onlyPhoto-verified draws as milestones are completedOrigination from 0.5%
CoreVest6 to 24 months, extension optionsNot statedDraws requested online as each phase of work is completedNot stated
Sherman Bridge (Simple70)12 months, lender option to extendNot statedNot stated3.0% points due at closing

From each lender's own website, read October 29, 2026. "Not stated" means the lender's page does not publish it. Terms change; confirm with the lender. Not financial advice.

Interest only and draws: what you actually pay

A hard money loan "typically includes an interest only payment," while a traditional home loan payment includes principal and interest (Easy Street Capital). On $200,000 at 9.49%, interest only is $1,581.67 a month; a 30-year principal-and-interest payment at the same rate would be $1,680.25. You pay less each month, but the full $200,000 is still owed at the end.

12 months of interest on a $200,000 hard money loan at 9.49%, with and without drawsFull $200,000 from day one$18,980.00Only on funds drawn$17,200.65Bars are to scale.12 months of interest on a $200,000 hard money loan at 9.49%, with and without drawsFull $200,000 from day one$18,980.00Only on funds drawn$17,200.65Bars are to scale.
Example: $150,000 at closing, two $25,000 rehab draws at months 4 and 7. Rate from RCN Capital's published starting rate, which it charges on the outstanding balance (read October 29, 2026).
PeriodBalance drawnMonthly interest at 9.49%
Months 1 to 3$150,000$1,186.25
Months 4 to 6$175,000$1,383.96
Months 7 to 12$200,000$1,581.67
12-month total$17,200.65

Draws save money too when interest is charged only on what has been released, as RCN Capital, Lima One and LendingOne say they do. With $150,000 at closing and two $25,000 draws, 12 months of interest comes to $17,200.65, $1,779.35 less than paying on the full $200,000 from day one. Ask every lender which way it charges.

Points: the upfront cost

Points are a fee equal to a percentage of the loan, paid at closing. On a $200,000 loan, the published figures in the table work out to:

$1,000Ternus (starting)
$2,000New Silver (low end)
$3,500New Silver (high end)
$4,000Easy Street Capital (high end)
$6,000Sherman Bridge Simple70

Some lenders let you finance points into the loan (Groundfloor) or defer origination until you exit (Lima One). The full picture, including APR, is on hard money loan rates, and the hard money loan calculator totals interest, points and cash to close for your deal.

Hard money loan vs bank mortgage

Hard money loanBank mortgageSource
Who lendsMostly private companies or individualsBanks and mortgage lenderssource
What approval rests onThe property's value; the borrower's credit is rarely the deciding factorYour ability to repay: a reasonable and good faith determination is required on consumer home loanssource 1 source 2
Income documentsNone at Kiavi; no W-2s or pay stubs on LendingOne bridge loansFull income documentation (LendingOne's description)source 1 source 2
AppraisalNone at Kiavi; in-house or waived at LendingOneThird-party appraisals often required (LendingOne's description)source 1 source 2
Monthly paymentTypically interest onlyPrincipal and interestsource
RateHigher, because the lender takes more riskLowersource
Fastest published closingAs little as 5 days (Express Capital)Varies by lendersource

Hard money loan pros and cons

ProsCons
Fast: Express Capital says it can close in as little as 5 daysHigher rates than ordinary home loans
Approval rests on the property; Kiavi asks for no income verificationPoints at closing, up to 3.0% at Sherman Bridge
Rehab funded too: up to 100% of rehab cost at Kiavi, Lima One and LendingOneShort terms (6 to 24 months) leave little room if a sale or refinance slips
Interest-only payments keep monthly costs downInterest only does not pay down the balance
Interest only on funds drawn at RCN, Lima One and LendingOneBuilt for investment property, not a home you live in

What hard money loans are used for

Investors

Easy Street Capital names new construction, flipping and updating rentals, and calls flipping "the most common situation for a hard money loan." See fix and flip, construction loans and bridge loans.

Commercial property

Fairview Lending makes commercial hard money loans decided on the property "as opposed to relying heavily on a borrowers credit, financials." Apartments, retail and office lenders are compared on commercial hard money lenders.

Federal rules: business loans vs home loans

Whether consumer-protection rules apply depends on what the loan is for, not on the word "hard money." Investor loans are business credit; a loan to you for a home you live in is generally consumer credit.

RuleApplies toWhat it means
Business-purpose exemption
12 CFR 1026.3(a); comment 3(a)-4
Loans for a business purpose or to an entity such as an LLC; loans on rentals you do not live inOutside Regulation Z (Truth in Lending). A rental is not non-owner-occupied if the owner expects to live there more than 14 days during the coming year.
Ability to repay
12 CFR 1026.43
Consumer loans secured by a dwellingThe lender must make a reasonable and good faith determination that you can repay. Temporary or bridge loans of 12 months or less are exempt from that test.
Higher-priced mortgage loan
12 CFR 1026.35
Consumer loans secured by your principal dwellingApplies when the APR exceeds the average prime offer rate by 1.5 or more points (first lien), 2.5 or more (first lien above the Freddie Mac loan limit) or 3.5 or more (subordinate lien). First-lien loans then generally need an escrow account for taxes and insurance, with limited exemptions.
High-cost mortgage (HOEPA)
12 CFR 1026.32
Consumer loans secured by your principal dwellingTriggered by an APR more than 6.5 points over the average prime offer rate (8.5 on a subordinate lien), points and fees above 5% (for 2026, on loans of $27,592 or more), or a prepayment penalty after 36 months or above 2% of the amount prepaid.

That is why most investor lenders will not lend on a home you live in. Read owner-occupied hard money loans before you apply if you will live in the property.

Before you apply, ask each lender how it charges interest on undrawn funds, how fast draws are paid and what an extension costs. Check whether a lender covers your state on the lenders by state list, and compare private money lenders if you are borrowing from an individual.

Frequently asked questions

What is a hard money loan in simple terms?

A short-term loan secured by real estate, made by a private lender and based mainly on the property's value rather than your income or credit. Investors use it to buy, renovate or bridge to a sale or refinance.

How does a hard money loan work?

The lender sizes the loan on the property, you pay points at closing and interest only each month, rehab money is released in draws, and the loan is repaid in one payment when you sell or refinance. Terms run 6 to 24 months at the national lenders on this page.

Are hard money loans interest only?

Usually. Easy Street Capital says a hard money loan typically includes an interest only payment, and Ternus, LendingOne and RCN publish interest-only terms. Kiavi offers interest-only options.

Who offers hard money loans?

Mostly private companies or individuals rather than banks. National investor lenders such as Kiavi, Lima One, RCN Capital and Ternus publish their terms online.

Can I get a hard money loan on my own home?

Rarely from investor lenders. A loan for a home you live in is generally consumer credit, which brings federal ability-to-repay, higher-priced and high-cost mortgage rules.

What happens when the loan term ends?

You repay it by selling the property or refinancing into long-term financing. Ternus charges a 1% extension fee, at its discretion, if you need more time.